Kopi av signalbilde-petter-dass.jpg
Hannah Ryggen «Petter Dass», 1940 (detail)

Concert: Mika Vainio

4 October 2015

The National Gallery

Electronic music and the art of textile share many traits such as machinic repetition, processes of layering and textural development. In a rare encounter between electronic abstract music and the art of tapestry, the electronic music virtuosoMika Vainiohascomposed a new composition called Trollklangveggen based on Hannah Ryggen’s work Trollveggen.

Mika Vainio, currently based in Berlin, was one half of the renowned minimal electronic duo Pan Sonic from Finland. His solo works, under his own name and under aliases such as Ø, are known for their low bass, analogue warmth and roughness. Be it abstract drone works or minimal avant techno, Vainio is always creating unique, physical sounds. He has released records on labels like Editions Mego, Touch, Wavetrap and Sähkö and he has been collaborating with Alan Vega of Suicide, Keiji Haino, Chicks on Speed and Stephen O'Malley among others.




For the «Hannah Ryggen. Weaving the World» exhibition, nyMusikk presents a concert series in cooperation with Nasjonalmuseet.

Events10599./b7ySFRfG11.ipsen/exhibitions_and_events/events/MenyplasseringHovedmenyOverstyr URLen/#activitiesDette er en aktivitetsrotmappetrue2

Related articles